Abu Dhabi is the largest of the seven United Arab Emirates.

A mixture of tradition and modernity. International flair with a lot of cosmopolitanism. This makes Abu Dhabi a special destination. The magnificent Sheikh Zayid Mosque is the landmark of Abu Dhabi. It is one of the largest mosques in the world. 

  • Travel duration: 3 days
  • Best time to travel: From October till March
  • Main dish: 15 €

Arrival

The airport of Abu Dhabi is a major transfer airport. You can get to the city centre by public transport, but we recommend taking a taxi. Every taxi has a taxi meter, so you don't have to worry about paying to much as a tourist.

Hotel

We recommend the Emirates Palace Hotel*. The 5-star accommodation is like a place from 1001 nights. If you like luxury and don't want to spend a very high amount of money, you've come to the right place. One night costs starts at 250 Euro per room.

Places of interest

The Sheikh Zayid Mosque is the landmark of Abu Dhabi. With its 107-meter high minarets, it is one of the largest mosques in the world. Gold, marble and fine paintings take you away into a fairy tale from 1001 nights.

The mosque can be visited daily for free. Book your admission time online so that you don't have to wait for hours. Make sure you wear suitable clothing. Skimpy miniskirts or off-the-shoulder tops are not allowed here.

From tradition to modernity: Abu Dhabi is home of the Louvre's sister museumin Paris. The building is a great photo motif, especially in the afternoon at sunset. In the Saadiyat district, a museum quarter is to be built in the next few years.

Advertising

The Etihad Towers are another eye catcher in Abu Dhabi. Here are luxury hotels as well as residential and office space. The entrance fee is about 25 Euro. But it is definitely worth it, for example because of the view of the Persian Gulf. From above you can even see the royal palace.

Only a few meters from the Etihad Towers is the Corniche Beach. Here you can relax on the beach or eat a delicious falafel in the evening.

If you are in Abu Dhabi, you should definitely see Dubai . Traditional markets, beautiful desert landscapes, endless shopping possibilities. Dubai has something to offer for everyone. Watch our video: "Dubai in 5 minutes“.

Advertising

Transport in Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi does not have an extensive public transport system. There are many public buses, but as many things are written in Arabic, you as a tourist don't know what's going on. It is cheap and comfortable to go by taxi.

You can plan your day trip to Dubai by coach. The E100 line runs regularly between the largest bus stations in Abu Dhabi and Dubai.

Rental car

With a rental car you can explore even more beautiful places. Driving a car in Abu Dhabi is not recommended. If you are tough enough: Book your car by clicking on the following link:

Abu Dhabi is more diverse and modern than I thought. The city will become a popular destination like Dubai.
Istanbul Sehenswürdigkeiten theTravellers
Cengiz
theTravellers
Advertising

New articles in the travel blog

Lübeck in 5 Minuten

Lübeck in 5 minutes

Lübeck is a world cultural heritage site and gateway to the Baltic Sea. Maritime flair and delicious fish, freedom and relaxation. You will find all this in Lübeck. Travemünde is very popular with its extensive beach. The...
Heidelberg in 5 Minuten

Heidelberg in 5 minutes

Heidelberg is a historical university town in Baden-Württemberg. The former Electoral Palatinate residential town of Heidelberg is known for its picturesque old town on the Neckar, the imposing Heidelberg Castle and the longest pedestrian zone in Europe....
Ruhrgebiet in 5 Minuten

Ruhr area in 5 minutes

In the Ruhr area industrial culture meets nature. The Ruhr area is one of the most diverse regions in Germany. Hundreds of industrial monuments reflect the past and are today impressive places for culture and leisure...
Düsseldorf in 5 Minuten

Düsseldorf in 5 minutes

Düsseldorf stands for fashion, lifestyle and Altbier. In Düsseldorf you can let yourself be inspired by the longest bar in the world or stroll along Königsallee for window shopping. However, Düsseldorf has...
en_GB
de_DE en_GB

Abu Dhabi ist das größte der sieben Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate.

Eine Mischung aus Tradition und Moderne. Internationales Flair mit viel Weltoffenheit. Das macht Abu Dhabi zu einem besonderen Reiseziel. Die prunkvolle Scheich-Zayid-Moschee ist das Wahrzeichen Abu Dhabis. Sie zählt zu den größten Moscheen der Welt. 

Anreise

Der Flughafen von Abu Dhabi ist ein großer Umsteigeflughafen. Mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln kommst du zwar in die Innenstadt, aber wir empfehlen eine Fahrt mit dem Taxi. Jedes Taxi hat einen Taximeter, du brauchst dir also keine Sorgen machen, dass du als Tourist zu viel bezahlst.

Hotel

Wir empfehlen das Emirates Palace Hotel*. Die 5-Sterne-Unterkunft ist wie ein Ort aus 1001 Nacht. Wer Luxus mag und dabei nicht extrem viel Geld ausgeben will, ist hier genau richtig. Eine Nacht kostet ab 250 Euro pro Zimmer.

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Die Scheich-Zayid-Moschee ist das Wahrzeichen von Abu Dhabi. Mit ihren 107 Meter hohen Minaretten zählt sie zu den größten Moscheen der Welt. Gold, Marmor und feine Malereien entführen Dich hier in ein Märchen aus 1001 Nacht.

Die Moschee kann täglich kostenlos besichtigt werden, buche deine Einlasszeit online, damit du vor Ort nicht stundenlang warten musst. Achte außerdem auf passende Kleidung. Knappe Miniröcke oder schulterfreie Tops sind hier nicht gestattet.

Von der Tradition in die Moderne: In Abu Dhabi befindet sich das Schwestermuseum vom Louvre in Abu Dhabi. Allein das Gebäude ist ein super Fotomotiv, besonders nachmittags zum Sonnenuntergang. Im Viertel Saadiyat soll in den nächsten Jahren noch ein richtiges Museumsquartier entstehen.

Anzeige

Die Etihad Towers sind ein anderer Hingucker in Abu Dhabi. Hier sind neben Luxushotels auch Wohn- und Büroräume. Der Eintritt kostet circa 25 Euro. Aber das lohnt sich auf jeden Fall! Denn die Aussicht auf den Persischen Golf ist einzigartig. Von oben sieht man sogar den Königspalast.

Nur wenige Meter von den Etihad Towers entfernt befindet sich der Corniche Beach. Hier kannst du am Strand entspannen oder abends einen leckeren Falafel essen.

Wenn du in Abu Dhabi bist, solltest du unbedingt auch Dubai sehen. Traditionelle Märkte, traumhafte Wüstenlandschaften, endlose Shopping-Möglichkeiten. Dubai hat für jeden etwas zu bieten. Schau Dir dazu unser Video an: „Dubai in 5 Minuten“.

Anzeige

Fortbewegung in Abu Dhabi

Der öffentliche Nahverkehr ist in Abu Dhabi nicht ausgebaut. Es gibt zwar viele Linienbusse, aber da vieles auf Arabisch geschrieben ist, blickst du als Tourist meist nicht durch. Günstig und bequem ist es, mit dem Taxi zu fahren.

Deine Tagestour nach Dubai kannst du wunderbar mit dem Reisebus planen. Die Linie E100 fährt regelmäßig zwischen den größten Busbahnhöfen in Abu Dhabi und Dubai.

Mietwagen

Mit einem Mietwagen kannst du noch weitere schöne Orte erkunden. In Abu Dhabi Auto zu fahren, ist aber nicht unbedingt empfehlenswert. Wenn du taff genug bist: Buche deinen Wagen unter folgendem Link:

Abu Dhabi ist vielseitiger und moderner, als ich dachte. Das wird noch zu einem richtigen Trendziel.
Istanbul Sehenswürdigkeiten theTravellers
Cengiz
theTravellers
Anzeige

Neue Beiträge im Reiseblog

Izmir in 5 Minuten theTravellers Reiseblog

Izmir in 5 Minuten

Izmir, die schönste Stadt an der Westküste der Türkei. Bist du bereit für leckeres Essen, historische Highlights – Ephesos und mehr - und außergewöhnliche Weltwunder, wie Pamukkale? Wir zeigen dir…
Lüttich in 5 Minuten

Lüttich in 5 Minuten

Lüttich, eine Stadt in Belgien. Ein Lebensgefühl. Nur eine Stunde von Köln oder Brüssel entfernt, liegt Lüttich im Herzen Europas. Und es gibt hier alles für einen perfekten Wochenend-Trip. Wir…
Aachen in 5 Minuten

Aachen in 5 Minuten

Die Stadt Aachen gehört zu unseren Top 10 Städten in Deutschland und ist eine Reise wert. Der Aachener Dom ist weltbekannt. Ebenso wie die geschmackvollen Printen. Aachen liegt am Dreiländereck…
Münster in 5 Minuten

Münster in 5 Minuten

Münster ist ein super Reiseziel für junge Menschen. Die Stadt wurde wegen ihrer hohen Lebensqualität mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Die meisten sind hier mit dem Fahrrad unterwegs, zum Beispiel auf der fünf…